Ancient Civilization/Religions Feudalism French Revolution Global Imperialism World at War Communism Collapse of Imperialism Global Hist. Concepts Test Taking Skills Practice Regents Exams

Estates System
Louis XIV
American Revolution
Louis XVI
Tennis Court Oath
Decl. of Rights of Man
The Bastille
The First Republic
Revolution Map
Reign of Terror
Napoleonic Reforms
French Empire
Congress of Vienna
Other Revolutions

French RevolutionGlobal History Regents Review
Congress of Vienna

After Napoleon's defeat, the nations of Europe met in Austria and created treaties to make sure no one nation could overwhelm the others like France did. 

Also, the Congress of Vienna wanted to create an environment in which revolution could not spread to the rest of the monarchies in Europe. 

The Congress set up a balance of power between the five Great Powers of Europe:
  1. Great Britain
  2. France
  3. Russia
  4. Prussia (Germany)
  5. Austria

No one country could overwhelm the allied armies of the other four. 

The French monarchy was restored by making Louis XVI's brother the new king (he took the title Louis XVIII--Louis XVI's son was killed in the revolution). 

Eventually, the five nations became involved in a gigantic arms race, which led to the outbreak of World War I. 

Home Instructions Video Credits Quiz Video Requirements Survey